top of page
  • Sharks Media

SG Ball Sharks season ends on disappointing note

The SG Ball Sharks have ended their 2021 season with a disappointing 54-18 loss to the Parramatta Eels in their deferred round seven match at PointsBet Stadium.

While a potential finals berth was out of the question after wins earlier in the day by the Raiders and Steelers who sat just ahead of the Sharks on the SG Ball ladder, the defensive effort wasn't quite up to scratch as the Eels ran in nine tries in what was a comprehensive win.

Padding out the scoreline and adding to the Sharks pain on the day was a perfect goal kicking performance from Eel Josh Chappell who kicked nine from nine.

The writing was on the wall early in the game, with the Eels racing to a 24-0 lead before the Sharks were able to trouble the scoreboard attendant, their first points coming from an individual effort from Josh Finau, the prop charging through the middle of the ruck before beating the fullback in a 30-metre run to the line.

The Eels would then cross for a fifth first half try, taking a 30-6 lead to the break, before going on with the job in the second period.

The lone bright spots for the Cronulla side came via second half tries to outside backs Carl Bishop and Sam Stonestreet, with the Sharks centre and winger two players able to hold their heads high after committed performances.

With the loss, the Ball Sharks finished their season in eighth position after four wins and four losses on the year. The SG Ball finals is held under a six-team format.

It was a lean day at PointsBet Stadium for the Sharks junior rep teams, with the Tarsha Gale and Matthews Cup teams also beaten by the Eels in the earlier matches.


Josh Finau, Sam Stonestreet, Carl Bishop tries, Jordan Samrani 2, Ryan Rivett goals

lost to



Don't forget to visit and for all of the results, competition ladders, more photos as well as to stay up to date with all the latest news about the Sharks and Sharks junior representative teams.

Pictures: Adam Wrightson

Round 7 - Team List

  1. Noah Lester

  2. Samuel Stonestreet

  3. Jordan Samrani

  4. Douglas Levi

  5. Te Wehi Waitere

  6. Cody Fuz ©

  7. Ryan Rivett

  8. Joshua Finau

  9. Kobie Wilson

  10. Jake Biggs

  11. Jed Hardy

  12. Toby Boothroyd

  13. Billy Burke Interchange

  14. Samuel Healey

  15. William Abou-Arrage

  16. Waylon Fiaii

  17. -

  18. Tully Wilton

  19. Carl Bishop

  20. Jackson Lenzo

205 views0 comments


bottom of page